Dark

New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

The Verge
Subscribe
Views 1 976 453
94% 39 882 2 487

Apple’s new iPad Pro is a beast of a tablet, and Nilay Patel reviews it -- everything from its new design and screen to plugging in several devices to the new USB-C port. Dami Lee and William Joel, professional creatives at The Verge, also give their insight into the new iPad and Apple Pencil.
Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
Here's a link to buy the iPad Pro: amzn.to/2E8BDeV
Note: we sometimes place affiliate links directly to the best deals in our video descriptions, so we may earn a commission if you buy something.
Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
Read More: www.theverge.com
Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
Subscribe to Verge Science on USvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl

Science & Technology

Published on

 

Nov 5, 2018

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 5 758
Nemesio Artaiz
Nemesio Artaiz 6 hours ago
I have the same sentiment. Yes Its a fast and expensive device, but it can't even handle usb c flash drive files. Im sticking to my old ipad 12.9
Mike Jones
Mike Jones 16 hours ago
why does apple still use intel chips in the macbooks ?
Holger Laufenberg
Holger Laufenberg 17 hours ago
He primary reason why is no real computer is the lack of a real file system and the shortcomings of mobile software. Even Apple’s own FileMaker Pro mobile version can’t perform primary functions like importing data on the iPad.
zen 2017
zen 2017 Day ago
If you buy that, then you have to stick with mobile apps and their limitations..(most of the great apps are not free as well) u better buy a laptop with that price.. and you can even play AAA Games and Office and Photoshop and Web Browsing and Hacking and Torrenting and Entertainment (TV, Movies and Music..) it probably wont have touch scren but what tha heck.. using wireless keyboard and mouse is way better and more precise for anything
Cliff Gamer
Cliff Gamer 2 days ago
No mouse support, no files system for God's sake, has USB-C but doesn't recognize SSD/ Flash drives/ External Hard disk, no desktop app support. This is a joke. Surface Go/ Pro are the real laptop replacements.
Steve Buddy
Steve Buddy 2 days ago
$2200?!?! I'll just either wait for Apple to come out with something actually worth $2200 or I'll just buy a Surface Pro and a Samsung Tablet! Thank You Apple!!!
Dinho Lima
Dinho Lima 3 days ago
Ya. I think the same... this is sooooooo stupid. Even an Apple fan as I am can think about why those idiots keep stealing our money, making useless iPads, just to sell more macbooks.
Akhil krishna Chowdary
Truly Honest review.. thumbs up
Marty Ericson
Marty Ericson 3 days ago
Best. Review. Ever.
silverwess
silverwess 4 days ago
I have the previous version and this one. my review is I like it more than the last one. My review is done.
Hector Coronel
Hector Coronel 4 days ago
just buy a freaking laptop
randomaccount
randomaccount 4 days ago
What's the deal with Apple and External Storage???
FireWall
FireWall 2 days ago
Probably to get people to spend money on iCloud and internal storage.
EKSPLOUZEN
EKSPLOUZEN 4 days ago
From who did Apple get the inspiration from *HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM*
Jabulani Harvey
Jabulani Harvey 4 days ago
true innovation vanguard right here....give it time and you will see the computing revolution that Apple has started......
Michael Reif
Michael Reif 5 days ago
Pencil is great. Seriously missing file management as with OSX.
Desmond Gomes
Desmond Gomes 5 days ago
is it bad that i want one to mainly read comics?
David Luna
David Luna 6 days ago
Snapchat on the iPad might be nice
MrDomestosWC
MrDomestosWC 6 days ago
This review is an eye opener. I was thinking about replacing my mbp late 2013 with the new iPad pro. This is the only review that told me the reality, which is don't. Thank you.
Oxi Clean
Oxi Clean 7 days ago
I think I'll wait for iPad pro to come out with a oled screen. Not worth paying all that for a LCD screen.
AwesomeBreakfast
AwesomeBreakfast 6 days ago
It's still an amazing screen with 120Hz ProMotion, has amazing colours and gets really bright at 600 nits of brightness
David Vishnu Kumar
Excellent thorough review.
Nilabh Umredkar
Nilabh Umredkar 7 days ago
Best review I have seen so far!
Knight 11692
Knight 11692 10 days ago
A lot of this is BS everything that I connected to my iPad pro through the USB type C worked just fine. The only thing that he's saying that's half way true is you need iTunes to upload files to the iPad pro other than that the rest of this video is a waste of time.
Syed Jawad Shah
Syed Jawad Shah 11 days ago
GREAT REVIEW AND GREATLY TO THE POINT.
co0kii
co0kii 13 days ago
Wait, THE dami lee?!
Omer Alam
Omer Alam 13 days ago
iPad pro needs mac os
Gilby R
Gilby R 14 days ago
Thank You! Great review.
JJ gang
JJ gang 15 days ago
I want it but my mom won't even give me a tablet
Aluel Mayen
Aluel Mayen 15 days ago
Ummm maybe you can give it away to the subscribers 👀
Anty855
Anty855 16 days ago
You, can it replace a macbook?
网相声
网相声 18 days ago
My main questions for this to replace laptop is, whether it can run ox system and HDMI possible for this.
Cuomo257
Cuomo257 18 days ago
How about ipad pro running macOS... ? Well done
Leti Bonnin
Leti Bonnin 18 days ago
were you able to plug in a mouse?
Makai.
Makai. 21 day ago
A laptop is better for work and literally everything but drawing and if you draw then buy the iPad 6th gen for $330 or last years iPad Pro. They work really well and unless your rich there’s no point of buying this iPad.
UTHSCSA School of Medicine - CIRCLE Curriculum
THANK YOU for giving an authentic review acknowledging that this is a supplement to a MacBook, not a replacement for one.
Tracy Krznar
Tracy Krznar 26 days ago
ABSOLUTELY LOVE YOUR COMMENTARY! I FEEL THE SAME WAY ABOUT THE iPad Pro. I bought one but, really wish it was all you wish for.
clevername333
clevername333 28 days ago
spoiler alert, NO.... NOOOOO..... the ipad cannot replace your laptop if you do any actual work on your laptop. If you just use your laptop to watch netflix and youtube and you read emails.. then you can use an ipad..
Alex Thurner
Alex Thurner 29 days ago
4366 emails... ouch
Paul Dotz
Paul Dotz Month ago
you cant (and wont be able to use it as a laptop sub -- i think). endowing ipad pro with laptop-like features would cannibalize their macbook lineup.
TJ Wilkins
TJ Wilkins Month ago
Awesome review - seriously informative and helped me make the right decision for me...
张朔
张朔 Month ago
Am I the only one noticing the 4000+ unread email???
Jason
Jason Month ago
Solution to the problem: Microsoft Surface. I have the iPad Pro 11 and several of the other iPads for the kiddies. It’s a great consumption device with some productivity, but it can’t replace a laptop like the Surface. Microsoft is expected to reveal the new Surface 7 this year. I’m hopeful.
Kurt Wallander
Kurt Wallander Month ago
haters gonna hate. dont try to shape apple products to you. you have to shape to apple, then everything works out.
Gabriel Leung
Gabriel Leung Month ago
Basically, I'll say that this iPad Pro and all the other iPads by Apple is just like a mad cow. They're really powerful, but they never get the job done.
ScreamingLlamas
ScreamingLlamas Month ago
Apple should make this good enough to be a laptop replacement for people who need a laptop AND a desktop
Nitin Sawant
Nitin Sawant Month ago
Can we use wireless mouse in iPad Pro 11..
Zrinko Maloseja
Zrinko Maloseja Month ago
So incredible yet so stupid. Great review.
elvyra yap
elvyra yap Month ago
Thank youuuu for the review!!! Im going to mbp 2018!!!
Rafael Storch
Rafael Storch Month ago
Excellent ending
Martyn Gasson
Martyn Gasson Month ago
I couldn’t give an arse if it replaces a laptop. It compliments my desktop nicely. iOS is perfectly fine for me. I save my files (Clip/Affinity) to “Files” or Dropbox, reopen on my Mac, and no probs. The Files system is only a problem if you make it a problem.
Daniel B.
Daniel B. Month ago
Yep not replacement... cause if it is then imac wont sells anymore... will be a doom for the company income!!!!
Gavin Playz
Gavin Playz Month ago
Plays Roblox at 15fps. Garbage
Morgan Walden
Morgan Walden Month ago
The first unbiased Apple review I've ever seen.
Morgan Walden
Morgan Walden Month ago
The first unbiased Apple review I've ever seen.
Tutankhamun KING
It’s a tablet just go out and buy a laptop stop complaining
Ashlyvett Figueroa
Im a full time student and have my own brand so I need to do everything online, school work, shipping labels, print... I don’t know which one should I get!
Geek Jawaid
Geek Jawaid Month ago
I don't want to adopt to my computer. I want my computer to adopt me. Golden words sir. 👍🤗
Arun Iyer
Arun Iyer Month ago
Great video! Apple keeps saying it wants the iPad to become user's laptop replacement, but they always seem to conveniently forget those key aspects that bring people back to their laptops. Hope they learn. This tablet isn't cheap.
Davie Chen
Davie Chen Month ago
You're absolutely correct! It has been really painful to see a buddy who's an Android fanatic to tell me not to buy this because of "reasons" and I've experienced the same with every Android user that's in my circles. Bought it and loving it. Have never been so happy using an iPad!
Praneeth Reddy
Praneeth Reddy Month ago
Can we use this for Adobe CC, editing of videos and photos...?
David Rapant
David Rapant 7 days ago
You can use the CC mobile app versions, not the full desktop apps. You can upload your photos using a lightning USB card reader then do edits in lightroom CC mobile and then sync to all your other devices like your desktop. At least that's my understanding.
ishootgopro
ishootgopro Month ago
I have iPad Pro 12.9 2017. and I love it. it's really nice and fast and very productive using it, and mine has 4G lte. I always use Apple products, I prolly owned every product they have, but I'm no artist, I don't draw or designs stuffs, I do photography and I use it to edit some photos to lightroom cc. but honestly I enjoyed using my Samsung Chromebook Plus v2. it has 4glte as well so I can take it anywhere. And I love using keyboard and the mouse. but I love my iPad so much. But I am not thinking about upgrading to a new one.
M 310
M 310 Month ago
I’m using it right now! Love it
Doodle Daily
Doodle Daily Month ago
Can’t we all just wait till iOS 13 god danit
Ghost Davis
Ghost Davis Month ago
So I have a question. I have the10.5 version is it worth the 165 to upgrade to the 11?
Sasori
Sasori Month ago
I’m gunna take a guess no that doesn’t come in a bundle u gotta pay for the iPad Pro, keyboard and Apple Pencil 😭😭
Why Not
Why Not Month ago
oh yeah yeah
NAND KISHORE
NAND KISHORE Month ago
Honest Review.. 👏👏
Will T
Will T Month ago
You greedy bastard why would you want external storage on something with a freaking terabyte inside it
M1ke_07
M1ke_07 Month ago
GREAT!
TechTale-3T4
TechTale-3T4 Month ago
Nice video
GameFailures
GameFailures Month ago
So they just gonna keep copying features off the surface aren't they
johny wijaya
johny wijaya Month ago
Can you install mac os on ipad pro 2018?
Puppy Eyes
Puppy Eyes Month ago
I want this I am 12 and I want this so bad my mom I buying it for me but I am still confused how much it is
jn3456
jn3456 2 months ago
spot on
Jason Tao
Jason Tao 2 months ago
That is not ipad mini from early 2018, that is the original ipad size.
Maninderpal Mannan
Maninderpal Mannan 2 months ago
Good review my man.. really informative
Thien Pham
Thien Pham 2 months ago
Imagine an iPad Pro that can switch from MacOS to IOS and vice versa whenever the user feels like it.
Liew Hong Yi
Liew Hong Yi 2 months ago
2200 dollars? What
MrEmanthedrummer
MrEmanthedrummer 2 months ago
iPad isn’t meant to be a computer. It’s meant to be a tablet. If you want a computer, but a MacBook or an iMac.
mikamiga
mikamiga 2 months ago
The iPad can't replace a laptop so long as it keeps using an OS designed for a mobile phone. You just can't replace a desktop OS with a mobile OS. There's too much you can't do. For the average person the iPad will be fine, but for people who need their computers for work, like programmers and web devs, the iPad Pro isn't useful at all!
Canosis Plays
Canosis Plays 2 months ago
All that power and yet still no Xcode.... still waiting to upgrade. Apple needs more pro software support and a more accommodating OS.
Stringbean
Stringbean 2 months ago
wow, great review and thanks for saving me a lot of money!
kemicalromanc15
kemicalromanc15 2 months ago
I basically bought it as a glorified sketch pad bc Procreate is so amazing. I know I'll need a computer for Photoshop and text for comics but the "On-the-go" and mobility is just what I need. Luckily....I don't have a pervious iPad Pro.
black magic753
black magic753 2 months ago
its detachable why would you ever use tablet with keyboard behind it???
Aiman khan
Aiman khan 2 months ago
U saved me bro..✌ peace
Namu Cuddles
Namu Cuddles 2 months ago
wait what YOU CANT HAVE GMAIL IN IPAD????? LMFAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Sugar™ Blackcurrant
Why all the iPad cant using magic mouse 😔
VirtuaMe
VirtuaMe 2 months ago
Next one hopefully to be OLED, waterproof and the newer iOS opening up more essential functions
Gregory Pierce
Gregory Pierce 2 months ago
I echo this sentiment. The iPad Pro is excellent hardware that is severely limited by iOS. Yes the hardware is going to keep getting faster and faster, but unless the OS gains and the software stack gains a lot of capability to exploit it - it's almost pointless.
Nicole Ibáñez
Nicole Ibáñez 2 months ago
This is the best review! Got so excited about this new iPad got it and found myself cut off by the limited apps and the way iOS limits how you can transfer files. Wish I had seen this before
Jedi 511
Jedi 511 2 months ago
Great review as always. $2200 is a lot for iOS powered device with the limitations iOS has. I wonder if Apple fragments iOS in to two groups: PadOS and PhoneOS. With the performance and price point the iPad Pros have (really since 2017), they need to be flexible enough to replace a laptop fully. Off topic, but one thing I don’t understand is the iPhone XR screen is bashed, yet has higher PPI than the iPad Pro screen which is praised. I have both the 10.5 iPad Pro and the iPhone XR and I can see vitrually no difference.
Eng Leong Kong
Eng Leong Kong 2 months ago
thats the thing bout apple...they dont get it...and well said, i would like it to adapt to me and not me adapt to it
Michael Paul
Michael Paul 2 months ago
Great music playing in the background
darron pattel
darron pattel 2 months ago
good thing you guys didnt have to put much together for this video
damberson4698
damberson4698 2 months ago
The reason I haven’t purchased an iPad is because of iOS I have an iPhone And the limitations of apps on iOS are purposeful. The whole reason I need a MacBook is iOS. The mobile OS gets in the way of some things I can do a lot of things on my phone, but sometimes you just need full desktop browsing etc. Apple will never allow the iPad Pro to have those functions. If they did, with the specs and performance that the iPad Pro has right now, it would destroy the MacBook Pro line, and honestly, some of the iMac sales would drop as well.
Kalvin Kiema
Kalvin Kiema 2 months ago
Maybe I’d be interested if there was a boot camp app for this iPad.
Max Maximovich
Max Maximovich 2 months ago
i love this review
Panache Automotive
Panache Automotive 2 months ago
No, but the Tab S4 can...
Arup Deb
Arup Deb 2 months ago
Is this an answer or something else?? If you're tired then leave it, stop winning It just frustrates 🤐😥
Malcolm H
Malcolm H 2 months ago
Really great review thanks! I was considering possible the iPad pro but, man, too frustrating.. too many exclusivities Apple won't budge on. Your comment, "the iPad pro is just an accessory to my laptop, not a replacement for it" How true, and that's what Apple seems to want...for people who have a lot of money to buy BOTH vs one that can do both. I can't make my Gmail my default email?! nope. I can't watch higher HD/4k on USvid?! nope. Too much exclusivity. dam. So frustrating.
Topher Caesar
Topher Caesar 2 months ago
The iPad doesn’t even have a 4K display...why the hell are you upset about USvid not playing in 4K?
Lom me
Lom me 2 months ago
Because of a 2200$ device? Why would you pay that price and not have 4K?
Next videos
28 COOL DIY PHONE CASE IDEAS
9:12