Dark

iPhone 11 Pro review: the BEST camera on a phone

The Verge
Subscribe
Views 2 304 054
86% 33 383 5 378

Apple’s iPhone 11 Pro and 11 Pro Max have the best cameras on a phone; a huge improvement in battery life; bright, beautiful displays; and they come in midnight green. These are some of the most well-balanced, most capable phones Apple - or anyone - has ever made. But starting at $999, they’ll cost you. Here's the review of our midnight green unit.
Check out the full review here: bit.ly/2miGPpX
How to preorder: bit.ly/2kFfpub
How to choose which phone to buy: bit.ly/2klgQO2
The 3 best and worst features: bit.ly/2lXyGr2
Apple Watch Series 5 review: bit.ly/2kQfH1e
iPhone 11 review: bit.ly/2mmwBoN
Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
Why'd You Push That Button Podcast: pod.link/1295289748
The Vergecast Podcast: pod.link/430333725
More about our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
Read More: www.theverge.com
Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
Subscribe to Verge Science on USvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl

Science & Technology

Published on

 

Sep 17, 2019

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 5 089
The Verge
The Verge Month ago
Would you spend more for a better phone camera?
biggs949597 s
biggs949597 s 10 days ago
You actually had the nerve to say that iPhone puts out displays that no one else can match LOL every Android Flagship makes a better display than any iPhone my LG G8 and I also own the S10 plus by the way so I know what great displays are but my G8 and my S10 plus are better than any iPhone by about 10 miles you quadroon negro
RLJswag
RLJswag Day ago
Pixel users: first time?
airdbreck The Scottish Australian
Small phone so I got an IPhone 11 Pro
Richard Alfaro
Richard Alfaro 2 days ago
haha
larry cowan
larry cowan 2 days ago
Just picked mine up today at apple store midnight green iPhone max pro 512 GB factory unlocked, now to burn and torch my 3 week old Samsung s10 5g 512 GB, I think I will post that torching on USvid, best of all going to record it on my iPhone ha ha
Melvin TV
Melvin TV 2 days ago
Iphone needs to focus to battery life..
Simon Magnusson
Melvin TV THE BATTERYLIFE IS GREAT
Mc Frick-it
Mc Frick-it 2 days ago
Damn that intro was beyond, beyond captivating
ViLmar RamoS
ViLmar RamoS 3 days ago
O tamanho desse notch chega a ser ridículo.
Shawn Elliott
Shawn Elliott 4 days ago
I wonder how many cameras we'll be rocking in 5 years lol
Twisted Melody
Twisted Melody 4 days ago
Y’know, eventually the entire back of phones are just gona be nothing but cameras. Or one big camera lol.
GSW NBA CHAMPS
GSW NBA CHAMPS 5 days ago
Interesting. My Xs Max is nowhere near that bad.
Fenc Rohas
Fenc Rohas 5 days ago
It's an absolute beast of a phone and the camera is the best I've ever seen.
ORTHODOX ISLAM
ORTHODOX ISLAM 6 days ago
Which one would u say I should buy
Ashley Aldred
Ashley Aldred 6 days ago
Yes
Peach Purple
Peach Purple 8 days ago
Best intro 00:53
Mitchell Mckenzie
Read a lot of complaints the screen scratches easily that is disturbing have you read that
Fahad S
Fahad S 9 days ago
Despite not liking the reviewer, the review itself was good
allemander
allemander 9 days ago
Why the 5K+ thumbs down votes on this fantastically produced, concise & informative video is beyond me. Wtf, people?
Jagger Screeton
Jagger Screeton 9 days ago
Pizza time
J Gambler
J Gambler 9 days ago
Slightly better than the pixel in some places, which is a year old..
Aminul Islam
Aminul Islam 9 days ago
Hi
shumail khan
shumail khan 10 days ago
Its hideous tbh
pshyeah1128
pshyeah1128 10 days ago
Nice pound of make up on her face 👍🏻
Cass Stich
Cass Stich 11 days ago
Better camera than the huawei. P 30 pro?
herohunter81
herohunter81 11 days ago
Don’t go by the 4-5 hour battery increase their apple described. Those phones were doing specific things and at 50% brightness. Everyones use will differ and so will the results. The battery seems better to me but not drastic. I watch videos ally at full brightness so my phone is getting heavily used.
Martin Stigemalm
Martin Stigemalm 12 days ago
Just gbfbdbdbf
Ray Gibson
Ray Gibson 13 days ago
Great review, and I'm going with the 11 Pro Max, 256GB. Tired of crappy videos, and I'm a content creator who doesn't want to buy expensive equipment yet, nor deal with Android features.
ADHIN
ADHIN 13 days ago
0:54 to 1:01, i am watching this video 16th time just for that dramatic shot!
Steve Mano
Steve Mano 13 days ago
Why is there always so much buzz around the iphone?
YK Brandz
YK Brandz 10 days ago
Steve Mano it’s an IPhone thing
Akshay Kalson
Akshay Kalson 14 days ago
The thing is , it’s not just the hardware , it’s the software too , it has enabled to not carry a lot of gear in the bag like gimbal or mirrorless camera just to get those stable videos
Mitchell Mckenzie
Mitchell Mckenzie 14 days ago
Is the pro or max phone with tele lens worth getting over the iPhone 11
smokingvibes
smokingvibes 14 days ago
Would spend more on compatibility. Apple must converge.
Tumelo Thebeng
Tumelo Thebeng 14 days ago
Note 10 is better then the rest.
Rudy Rodriguez
Rudy Rodriguez 9 days ago
samsung is laggy, malware ridden junk
Ely Joel Tangan
Ely Joel Tangan 14 days ago
I was waiting to come the new iPhone to buy it, but I feel so disappointed when I saw its looks the time it release. I have trypophobia so I will definitely don't buy it
Hazim Salim
Hazim Salim 15 days ago
remove the dust bro
Blue Sky
Blue Sky 15 days ago
Absolutely still inferior camera to Pixel cameras.
Madhusudhan
Madhusudhan 15 days ago
5:30 I think Note 10 photo looks better than rest , seeing from my iPad 😊
Lucas Rocha
Lucas Rocha 15 days ago
Have you noticed the light glare when you take photos/videos at night? Wondering if anyone is looking further into this.
Miro Mannino
Miro Mannino 16 days ago
Thank you for confirming that Pixel 3 still looks the best despite whatever you had to say in words 😅 Plus the P30 is still miles ahead... And that has been carefully removed from review 😅
Curtis Wallen
Curtis Wallen 16 days ago
I never thought I’d say it, but I’ll miss 3D Touch...
Adam Davis
Adam Davis 16 days ago
The camera on my pixel 3 was better then the one on my 11 pro max
ManhattansActress
ManhattansActress 16 days ago
SOLID review that was actually enjoyable to watch
Doraemon .25
Doraemon .25 17 days ago
1:11 Me: The battery is so low lmao Him: It hAs A GoOd BaTTEry LiFe
Motars 109
Motars 109 17 days ago
Doraemon .25 just because its low doesn’t mean it doesn’t have good battery life
Limaa008
Limaa008 17 days ago
Design in California, Assembled in USA, Made In China
Wilberforce Wilpower
The potrait mode though ....forgotten
Dhruvil Patel
Dhruvil Patel 18 days ago
Waiting for pixel 4 .❣️💯
Melody Lane
Melody Lane 18 days ago
What about the microphone? What I hate about my X is when recording someone standing in front of me and talking to them, I am loud and they are quiet. I need mic on both sides.
von7
von7 17 days ago
It already has a mic on both sides. There’s one in the bottom to the right of the charging port, and one to the right earpiece-speaker.
J SLiM
J SLiM 19 days ago
What does punchier mean here?
Louisa Muniz
Louisa Muniz 19 days ago
Cc
Extraterritorial Us
WOW
唐世力
唐世力 19 days ago
Didn’t you notice the obvious FLARE problem in night mode edpecially?
Me Nature
Me Nature 19 days ago
Nahh... i would like to see a no notch iphone completely all screen with 90 or 120ghz refresh rate
Michal Hrubčo
Michal Hrubčo 19 days ago
hi, would you buy an iphone 11 for max or note 10+?
Michal Hrubčo
Michal Hrubčo 19 days ago
hi, would you buy an iphone 11 for max or note 10+?
Bishal Sapkota
Bishal Sapkota 19 days ago
Nobody🤧 Pro like me ; Do you want to buy my kidney?
TheTinyTimmyTimTim
TheTinyTimmyTimTim 20 days ago
Naming definitely matters. Nobody is doing any type of pro work on a smart phone, whereas their other pro offerings like the ipad pro and macbook pro absolutely do fill that role.
Scott Klein
Scott Klein 20 days ago
Rent is so cheap and phones are very affordable. I think I’ll ask my friends and family to buy this product and make more money for visa, inc. Then I think I will blame the system for the next 10 years and ask for free college. Why wouldn’t I if i have the latest iPhone.
Wall Street
Wall Street 20 days ago
No Snake? Not gonna upgrade my Nokia 3210 this year either... 😦
Faeiz Vanderago
Faeiz Vanderago 20 days ago
is this a phone with camera or is it camera with phone? im confused...
Chris D
Chris D 16 days ago
Faeiz Vanderago both! it’s the worlds fastest phone, with the best smartphone camera. I’ve seen some deep fusion images, and it’s a huge step up again from these images. Video is even more impressive imo!
Manish Bhatia
Manish Bhatia 20 days ago
Hi, I have a question - Do you suggest to put screen protector on iPhone 11 Pro Max? Does it really make sense to put one or it will ruin the experience of touch?
Next videos
Why I'm so good at coding.
10:01