Dark

If I could only have one computer this would be it. - Alienware m15 Review

Linus Tech Tips
Subscribe
Views 1 170 823
96% 34 555 1 102

Get an unrestricted 30-day free trial of FreshBooks at www.freshbooks.com/techtips
Use code LINUS and get 25% off GlassWire at lmg.gg/glasswire
The Alienware m15 R2 can do basically everything I'd ever want a computer to do... but at that price, should you just get two instead?
Buy Alienware m15 R2
On Amazon: geni.us/kogAtBr
On Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVPC
Purchases made through some store links may provide some compensation to Linus Media Group.
Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1111560-if-i-could-only-have-one-computer-this-would-be-it-alienware-m15-review/
Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: lmg.gg/sponsors
Get a VPN with PIA at geni.us/7lLuafK
Check out Displate Metal Posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
Intro Screen Music Credit:
Title: Laszlo - Supernova
Video Link: usvid.net/video/video-PKfxmFU3lWY.html
iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High usvid.net/u-approachingnirvana

Science & Technology

Published on

 

Oct 7, 2019

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 3 296
Simon Williams
A great machine ruined in my opinion by soldered in RAM. Disappointing Dell.
Dominic Maldonado
Aero 15 has a 94wh battery BTW. OLED display sucks up 90 mins of runtime compared to the FHD version though.
Rifty
Rifty 2 days ago
The m17 r5 (or r2) is really good, it can run all games max graphics really good fps
Cameron Bosch
Cameron Bosch 2 days ago
Just waiting for a 32 GB of RAM option.
Sages604
Sages604 3 days ago
Still looking at about 4000+ CAD. Hope you guys put in your hours at work.
vivek mathur
vivek mathur 3 days ago
What the heck was that twerking. Linus tech.
Chaitanya Pahl
Chaitanya Pahl 3 days ago
Bro 50$ for ur Underwear lol i can get two rams for upgrade
Majin Bleu
Majin Bleu 4 days ago
I just wanna play minecraft
Mike Wazowski
Mike Wazowski 5 days ago
Mi hat wen pepal spel wurdz rong
Falcon3
Falcon3 5 days ago
*IF YOU VALUE YOUR MONEY AND OR YOUR SANITY. DO - NOT - BUY THIS LAPTOP, OR ANY DELL PRODUCT FOR THAT MATTER. IM NOW UP TO MY 3RD M15 LAPTOP, THEY HAVE ALL BEEN FAULTY ON ARRIVAL, AND DELL SUPPORT IS - TERRIBLE -* UNDERSTAND, THAT DELL NOW MAINLY FOCUSES ON CORPORATE CUSTOMERS, THEY DO NOT GIVE A FLYING FCK ABOUT YOUR GAMING LAPTOP. - YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.
ad t
ad t 6 days ago
is 51m better?
Traveler
Traveler 6 days ago
Buyers remorse on the Alienware M15, people that say it is the "Best" may as well be a Used Car Salesman.... Alienware Area 51 is the Only Laptop You will Ever need.
CustardDonut
CustardDonut 6 days ago
Legend has it that there are some super secret photos of Linus in tighty whiteties
Pulits
Pulits 7 days ago
I have the money and I am not getting this laptop because I can't upgrade the RAM. Wtf, Dell?
Bruce Levy
Bruce Levy 8 days ago
so the only advantage over the xps is the graphics card?
BUDDHI CHATURANAGA
usvid.net/video/video-jYeZRqfjbEM.html
Javier79ism
Javier79ism 10 days ago
Well, it's absurdly expensive here in the Netherlands, but I still want it tho😔 Will buy it given the opportunity😏
Web Design
Web Design 10 days ago
Tobii eye tracking can do windows hello
Massew
Massew 13 days ago
Bro you should undervolt this thing if you get it. I'd say like -1.00
Ceremolligence
Ceremolligence 13 days ago
You have the space shuttle kinetic beside it! Holly, you don't see that once in a blue moon. :D
FlannelKnight
FlannelKnight 17 days ago
I know this is a late comment... but I noticed some blaringly bad miss information in this video. Not the quality I’ve grown to enjoy with LTT. The 240hz panel: you make it seem like people will actually get better gaming performance when in reality anything outside of CS (which credit for showing this game) will not be able to get those frame rates with most of these GPU options. Could have mentioned that. 240hz panel being the best option for color accuracy??? The 240hz has 100% sRGB and the 144hz has 72% NTSC... which is basically the same amount of accuracy. Comparing apples to oranges here. Not to mention the 240hz panel will probably just drain the battery faster for essentially no performance gains outside of super esports titles like CS. Would love to see a refresh of this video with a bit more care. I’m currently looking for a laptop and really trust when LTT has to say. Let’s keep up the quality information and real world performance! Love you guys and your videos!
Brandon T.
Brandon T. 17 days ago
Not sure i want a laptop.that runs the CPU super hot. Im not a hardcore.gamer anymore. Might occasionally game.for.3hours but if its gonna run hot then mighr notmget it
Niko Santos
Niko Santos 18 days ago
7:01 i wasnt ready for that briefs.
chandler turner
chandler turner 20 days ago
So this can support vr?
Jose Aguilar
Jose Aguilar 21 day ago
I use to be Cult of Razer, but this laptop made me switch. I love this laptop, it also works great with Linux!
Erik Ray
Erik Ray 22 days ago
I like my Area 51m, it does pretty much everything I want it to. It's literally a desktop replacement that I can take with me.. in a big rolling pelican case lol. Only real con is that it's a product of dell and comes with their propriety software. If I could make one improvement it would be an OLED panel for the display. I've been spoiled by Samsung's phones and I love the contrast ratio on OLED.
Michael Wanyoike
Michael Wanyoike 24 days ago
The problem with gaming laptops is that they overheat and with time, the CPU fan will start failing which probably you won't find an original replacement. If you plan on heavy gaming, 3D rendering, video editing, or working with heavy applications such as Unreal Engine or CAD software, get a desktop which is easier to cool, maintain and replace parts. However, if you still want a gaming laptop, restrict yourself to not more than 1 hour of gameplay per day to extend the life of your laptop.
reguessingTV
reguessingTV 25 days ago
Why is the m15 better than the m17??
Samu
Samu 25 days ago
7:01 WTF Linus
Luan Santiago
Luan Santiago 25 days ago
This channel is pure quality
MrSmilesCam
MrSmilesCam 27 days ago
If I only wanted one computer, it would be the Surface Book 2 top-of-the-line model. For...well, the same price as this laptop. But right now I have a high-end gaming desktop and a Surface Pro 7 (i5/8GB/256).
Kev Kev
Kev Kev 27 days ago
Will the Alienware m17 R2 with RTX 2070-Q I7 play games like Apex and Cod on ultra with good fps?
WiiBox 500
WiiBox 500 29 days ago
Do you need 32gb ram anyways?
LazyFaux5656
LazyFaux5656 Month ago
Gotta say, the m15 pitted against my 2017 Alienware 17, makes my laptop look like a dinosaur. Lol. That’s a nice looking laptop.
Clayton Walker
Clayton Walker Month ago
that was sexual harassment lol
jeo philip
jeo philip Month ago
Pulseway......lol
Savage C00KIE
Savage C00KIE Month ago
I’m getting a similar one that says it’s a 15m or m15 with 2060 ti and a 144 Hz
SaminPK
SaminPK Month ago
No G-Sync, No Cigar!!
Kmilo 117
Kmilo 117 Month ago
Came to see a laptop review and got an underwear commercial Kinda good deal
drkinferno72
drkinferno72 Month ago
Can it play doom?
HahaUrMadLoL
HahaUrMadLoL Month ago
Linus ur pp burned my eyes
Leandro Lopes
Leandro Lopes Month ago
Soldered ram for this price? F u Alienware.
Eli Percival
Eli Percival Month ago
I am starting to think you sold out to dell $crew you!!!!!!!!!!!
Born 2 Win
Born 2 Win Month ago
Do you guys prefer the m17 R2 or the 15 R2?
Jared Sandella
Jared Sandella Month ago
Any plans to do a review on the new Alienware Aurora R9?
IB Jewed
IB Jewed Month ago
Just got one and I am loving it
Shazam1203
Shazam1203 Month ago
I got mine from the Dell outlet with the RTX 2070 for 1700
Antonyo's Spam
Antonyo's Spam Month ago
Guess im buying it
Ron Terlitsky
Ron Terlitsky Month ago
I can see kids begging Mommy and Daddy for this,,,,, Realistic would be $2200 for a beater with a heater to get to a better job than have been on your bicycle and $300 for a job. GOT THE PICTURE you F'n lazy azz Millennials?! Now otherwise us old gamers over 45 that have a great job and cashola this is a sweet unit I'd still never buy it when there's the ASUS ROG Strix (GL531GU-WB53) for $900 that with a couple of upgrades is something more worthwhile and won't make you cry when you drop it on the pavement :)
Syed First
Syed First Month ago
If it was 32gb RAM then I would definitely buy it!!
Laser Lotus
Laser Lotus Month ago
MX518 Legendary! Same.
Icei
Icei Month ago
RAZER ain't gonna like this 🤣
Kendra Wilkins
Kendra Wilkins Month ago
"in 2020, this list helped me decide for the best laptop cooler *scafe.shop/tblc2020?uF* hope it helps you out too!"
B Adventures Vlogs
I really didn't need to see Linux in his underwear lol. Explaining the value equation at the end was a nice summary. Good review 👍
Alex Cyber Crazy
7:00 Linus: *"Zoom in on my crotch"* Cameraman: Ummm... seriously...but... Linus: *DO it! I'm your boss.*
Preston Tucker
Preston Tucker Month ago
Razer Blade 15 Advanced ftw.
Leonardo Da Vinci
So it's basically over priced?
Seth Lippa
Seth Lippa Month ago
i think my GPU on my 2015 alienware 17is crapping out and since we cant really upgrade these older machines i might be looking at another machine, but the pricing is scaring me off a bit, i want to max out either the Alienware m17 or the Area-51m but the price is making me lean more towards the m17, if i whent that route, what would i really be missing? and is there anything i can get externally or internally down the road which would get me close if not on par with the 51m? its kind of a rookie question but im not savvy with computers i just know how to turn them on and off and operate them, specs is really not in my brainwaves. thanks :)
wilsonc91
wilsonc91 2 months ago
H
Praveer Kumar
Praveer Kumar 2 months ago
can't upgrade it
Next videos