Dark

A Patient Filed A Complaint! | Wednesday Checkup | Doctor Mike

Doctor Mike
Subscribe
Views 2 369 581
98% 77 180 1 432

For this week's Wednesday Checkup, I wanted to share a story with you about how a patient encounter did not go as planned in my office. I thought I did everything right but the outcome was not what I expected.
In life, there are many times when we have good intentions where the outcomes are bad. During those times we need to evaluate why that happened so that we can avoid repeating the same mistake over again.
If you have an idea of something you want me to cover in depth, please let me know because I take your requests seriously. We will be back with more Medical Drama Review Series this Sunday so please submit more names of shows/episodes you'd like for me to watch. Love you all!
- Doctor Mike Varshavski
Please SUBSCRIBE for new videos every Sunday 11am EST ▶ goo.gl/87kYq6
Let’s connect:
IG goo.gl/41ZS7w - Doctor Mike
Reddit www.reddit.com/r/DoctorMike/
Twitter goo.gl/kzmGs5 - Real Doctor Mike
Facebook goo.gl/QH4nJS - Real Doctor Mike
Contact Email: DoctorMikeMedia@Gmail.com
P.O. Box (send me stuffs):
340 W 42nd St # 2695
NY, NY 10108

Published on

 

Nov 22, 2018

doctor mikedr mikemikhail varshavskidr. miketv doctorswednesday checkupask doctor mikemike varshavskiinstagram doctorpatient files a complaintpatient complaintpatient complains doctorhealth and wellnessask dr mikefunny doctorstorytimedoctor mike storytimehealthy and happypatient complaints in hospitalspatient complaint scenariosdr mike varshavskifamily medicine doctorlow back pain MRIgood intentions bad outcomes

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 8 866
John Flanagan
John Flanagan 21 hour ago
Dealing with idiots, narcisists and down right criminals. Part of life beyond the doctor patient thing. 10%...you're kidding me. Way more than that. You seem to be a decent guy. Many of us aren't. So many...
Ana Morales
Ana Morales 22 hours ago
Dr. Mike, we need more doctors like you in America. The way you treated this patient is one of the reasons why I would like to go to an osteopathic school (instead of an allopathic). I've shadowed before and it's crazy how doctors prescribe medications upon medications to treat the symptoms and not the cause. Most doctors don't take the time to know their patients. No one wants to understand the importance of a good diet, exercise, mental health, etc. Americans are obsessed with medication and doctors are not educating patients how they should.
Rushilwiz
Rushilwiz 23 hours ago
4:36 went full NYC
serve24
serve24 Day ago
As a physical therapist, I couldn’t agree more with this!
sarah saint
sarah saint Day ago
Can you team up with legal eagle to talk about mandatory vaccinations and other health policy?
Laughing _Allthewayhome
Dr.Mike are you wearing eyeshadow? 😏
Eric Varela
Eric Varela Day ago
That cuts both ways, if you go in and (for the lack of a better term) lay down the law, the person won’t trust you in that way either. Not that I’m a doctor or anything however, I do know people. I’d say after you get all the info you need tell him/her “give me 3 minutes on why I don’t think you need an MRI, and by the end if your still set on a MRI I will happily write you a script for a MRI and send you to a specialist” I speak from experience on this because long story short I was in the military and I was injured during deployment and in total I’ve had 6 back surgeries. And every time I saw a doctor it was a up hill battle! I felt as though since there is no test doctors can give you on the spot that says yes you are in pain and yes it’s an 8 out of 10 they always look at you like you’re just trying to get pain medication! I had a artificial disc put in my back and it was failing, it was literally slipping out of the vertebra it was sandwiched between and when I started hurting from it I went into see the doctor to find out what was wrong he blamed it on my shoes! I got pissed at that doctor and went to see another one and finally got imaging on my back that showed how crooked it was!!
Patrick Star
Patrick Star Day ago
5:53 -perosis
Lori Gillmen
Lori Gillmen Day ago
i personally know people like this patient. it is a possibility that the patient wanted the mri to use as proof of illness or injury so they could get disability or be take a break from work using workman's comp. they could also use it as a means to try to get pain relievers that they actually may or may not need. you never know. i am not saying this person had nefarious plans but i do know that some people think like this. i feel bad for you because i am sure you thought you did your best in trying to help him but you know what they say...the road to hell is paved with good intentions. sometimes no matter how much you do for people it is never enough.
Dani Kiss
Dani Kiss Day ago
Where's the "bee woop" thingy?? 😢😢😭😭
Tris Madison
Tris Madison Day ago
4:38 your New York is showing 😂
Eternal Miracle
Maybe the patient was actually one of those people who'll go see a doctor then get convinced by them and then met a person that is familiar to them (family, friend, lover, etc) and told the patient bad things about doctors like "They can't be trusted"," I had this situation too before and the doctor told me to do this/not do this but my friend said that I should've not done this/done that because that's what her friend told her/him too and it actually worked!","Doctors can't be trusted, they can't save everyone", "blah blah blah" then got convinced so he/she filed a complaint against you.
Clame Ladaga
Clame Ladaga Day ago
Is it just me... Or he's hiding his sadness at the end of the video...
mommy2kdk
mommy2kdk Day ago
I don't understand what makes MRI risky. I have had many! I have had back pain since my late teens, never ever worked a pain free day. Most of my jobs were not labor intensive. I have arthritis in my back. Dr after dr said it was my big boobs.🤦‍♀️ Then you have my severe neck pain. They attributed to my fibromyalgia. Not listening. Pain specialist is like okay let's do shots in the joints. She said I am totally describing arthritic pain. Something I have learned as a patient is your Dr doesn't always get your descriptions.
Amanda Stapley
Remind me of my husband. Says he sleeps like crap, always feels tired, never feels rested, etc. He asked our doctor about a sleep study but she suggested he needs to try certain things like drink waaaaay less coffee, stop drinking coffee 8 hours before bed time, go to bed at the same time and get up at the same time, don't drink before bed. Basically my husband refuses to try and change so I get to listen to how miserable he is when the power is in his own hands.
Henning Horn af Rantzien
The 1.4k dislikes are from this person's extra accounts.
Crystal Price
I stopped at the 8:41 mark. From the limited information you gave on this complaint, why do you consider this a complaint? It sounds like this patient wanted a different doctor. Again, it’s low limited information but it’s not like they were insulting you personally. And then you definitely implied that it must be the patient’s fault for being completely mental by consulting with other professionals. The only complaint I have is that you now view this particular patient in a different way.
iPsychlops
iPsychlops Day ago
As a mental health professional in a scientific training program, I am really glad you're aware of psychosomatic (mind-body) conditions.
kelly mcclure
I agree, alot of stress can really cause issues. I have had the same happen to me. I was way over stressed, i had so many symtoms i thaught i was going to die, or something physical was really wrong with me. My doctors were not as nice as this doctor, they made me think i was nuts. After my stress backed off felt better. The one thing i learned is stress can do things that are not good they can affect everything. Also if you habe a doctor that thjnks you're nuts, get a new doctor. Wish my doctor was this guy when i was extremely ovef stressed.
yella
yella Day ago
Ey yo doc, my.beck hurtz I hike 8-9 miles (not flexing br0) *cry cry* I need MRI to calculate whether or not the earf iz flat cause I hike ate miles a day bro, 💪 no fl3x
Night Stick
Night Stick 2 days ago
I'm honestly confused, what part of anything was spiritual or non-traditional in any way? If you want spiritual, come hang out with my grandmother... Love her to pieces and I always will; but she's full on crazy! She goes drumming at the beach while burning incense and saying she's healing the world, she practices healing touch and believes she can spiritually heal people, she's got more crystals and gens and stones than an actual mine would have and travels the world tyo go to gem shows to buy them. She's got all sorts of chimes and harmonics that she claims will heal you. You can't fathom spiritual until you've met my crazy-ass grandmother!
Lauren Love
Lauren Love 2 days ago
Sounds like someone fishing for a workers comp claim
Noelle H
Noelle H 2 days ago
I’d say that patient really took the fact that you took the time to really figure out what was going on and explain it to him for granted. I went to the doctor once for a fever and severe sore throat and after looking at my throat for 10 seconds he just said it wasn’t strep and prescribed me maximum strength antibiotics right off the bat. the antibiotics ended up making me even sicker, so much that I had to stop after the first dose, and I later found out the original infection was viral. I would’ve really preferred that he had actually tried to figure out what was causing my symptoms instead of going with the easy way out, which caused way more harm than good for me.
Sonja Klein
Sonja Klein 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your video. I'm in med school and some of the patients and simulated patients we met the last couple weeks I had difficulties connecting with. I couldn't make out a reason and my classmates reported the same. Now I have a better understanding why we struggled to connect to the patients.
Madhura Paralikar
How can anyone do that? U r so good n nice. Love u Dr. Mike❤️
taylor mullins
taylor mullins 2 days ago
Sounded like a Jersey accent slipped out at 4:36 lol
Jaclyn Jenkins
Jaclyn Jenkins 2 days ago
i wish that i could have a doctor that cared as much as you do. the system has kind of thrown me to the side and discarded me. so i’m just waiting for my port or feeding tube to get infected or get sepsis again and just am going to refuse treatment and maintain my DNR/AND status. we need more people like you in healthcare.
Marion Wheatland
Marion Wheatland 2 days ago
Some patients are just difficult. It is similar with clients at the cash registers at the supermarket. It is not what you tell them - it is what they HEAR.
Jazmin Lopez
Jazmin Lopez 2 days ago
Patient gets handsome male doctor instead of female Him: wait that’s illegal
Marykate Gilligan
i wish i had you as my doctor for my lower back pain!! I have a slipped disc in my L5 and my one doctor told me to rest and quit cheerleading! I wasnt doing any activity besides PT for 6 months, but then i changed PT places and they told me i should have been moving this whole time 🙄🙄. I would’ve love to have you. You definitely care for your patients and only have good intentions. You’re very educated and want the best for your patients!!!
An O
An O 3 days ago
I can see the patient's perspective on this one . I know several people with ankylosing spondylitis. As young healthy men who are able to be physically active, their pain was dismissed for years. In one case, it was dismissed for 15 years by multiple doctors. The reason the back pain was dismissed was all about being able to move and being able to function. But young people can function through incredible amounts of pain. And people with Ankylosing Spondylitis get relief from movement. So significant pain was dismissed and dismissed again because of the exact type of assessment that you did yielding the ability to move. The problem was that early diagnosis could have prevented spinal fusion and bone deformity. Although appropriate medication could have helped prevent further problems, they ended up having spinal fusion issues and back problems that are not reversible. Sometimes all it takes is for somebody to listen and take you seriously. Someone with fused hips and a partially fused back can actually still be very physically successful. Particularly if they are young and otherwise healthy . It just happens to be accompanied by an awful lot of pain.
Olga Zuluaga
Olga Zuluaga 3 days ago
I wish I could be your patient because I'm always sick and doctors don't know what's wrong😓
Anonymous
Anonymous 3 days ago
We Are Watching
Coco Yao
Coco Yao 3 days ago
How do you get around HIPPA?
Nemesis Zero
Nemesis Zero 3 days ago
I had an injury years back, I still go through pain and was told I have a faulty nervous system, I have to retrain my nervous system, I know the brain controls things, I know what they are saying, I didn't think for a second they were being spiritual lol
YoutubeUser
YoutubeUser 3 days ago
I am a nurse. One of my patients complained to my manager saying that I ‘turned on the light’ while checking BP at midnight. How can I do BP in dark? She was a postop patient and I needed to do her BP every 4 hours.
M
M 3 days ago
Wow that is not what you deserved at all! You seem like an awesome doctor! That being said I totally understand the patient's reaction because I've met my share of doctors in various countries who basically have your excellent approach and then recommend homeopathic treatments or acupuncture or even more hokum things that I won't mention here instead of actually what would work. I used to have chronic pain not as bad as that but I literally tried everything until I finally found what worked: kinesiology and osteopathy. I occasionally feel mild discomfort now, once every other month if I neglect my body. A good therapeutic massage of my back usually does the trick. No need for an MRI though lol 😂 but he probably thought you could see what was wrong and figure out how to fix it. I'm also guessing you're not the first doctor he saw about his problem so he's basically going from doctor to doctor asking for an MRI and being frustrated by them not doing that. I'm guessing that he's been growing frustrated by that and the never ending pain combined with his stress he lost patience and lashed out. Don't take that complaint personally my friend. Keep up the good work!👍🏻
CharlieActual
CharlieActual 3 days ago
I'd rather have a Doctor like you who thoroughly explains medical procedures to me than glancing over stuff. I'm sure a lot of people share that sentiment as well. Even though the behavioral specialist said its 5%-10% of patients. That guy should of just went and got a second opinion if he wanted and MRI so badly. You go Dr. Mike!
AmandasAfterword
AmandasAfterword 3 days ago
The thing that makes me the most upset is that you’re a DO, and you were treating the patient the way a DO should, when he was expecting to be treated like he was seeing an MD. You’re awesome, glad you can look at it maturely and learn something from it. ☺️
Toley TolerBear
Toley TolerBear 4 days ago
That dude was a psychologically troubled and 2-faced, whiny man-baby; He could’ve just compared your diagnosis with that of another doctor or 2 instead of filing that complaint against you! What a DICK. You should take Bear with you to that dude’s home and have Bear leave a Matterhorn mountain-size pile of shit on his porch. 🤔🧐🤓🤠
CPacker 1183
CPacker 1183 4 days ago
Sounds like that person is an prick. MRI's are expensive.
Salaheddine Cherrak
I think the patient was getting emotional again from his back pain (being 20 and doing all that activity is stressful and imagin him being insecure about his body -explains why he runs all those miles by bike, but his schedule doesn't fit with the physical therapy so he couldn't do it anymore but the pain persists which made the frustration add up and he blammed the doctor in the process then filled a complaint) i know I shouldn't defend him but judging by his reaction and acceptfullness with Dr. Mike, I don't believe he felt manipulated or overly protected or repulsed by excessive kindness : /
Ana Franco
Ana Franco 4 days ago
That patient should not be hiking that long with a back pain like that. I understand that he wants an MRI, but was ordered some thing different. Sometimes, us as patients, are stubborn and closed minded, unfortunately. Therefore Dr. Mike, I think paying really close attention to the initial request is very important. I love that you learned from this mistake, that makes you a quality doctor.
makeupunlimited
makeupunlimited 4 days ago
now if you had pumped him up with pain med scripts and he became an addict he would've been 'happy'. some people like to get tests done if they need it or not.
John Dreic
John Dreic 4 days ago
Hey Dr Mike, I have to say you didn't do anything really wrong. But I do understand the patient's point of view somewhat. I have had long term pain and issues where I did all the research possible on my own and in many cases was more up to date on the specifics of my issue, so it can seem slightly patronising (although entirely rational) to offer basic solutions first. You also have to understand that people experiencing long term chronic pain are not always thinking completely rationally and are not usually in the best of moods.
Dilly Dalie
Dilly Dalie 4 days ago
???? you did not ask what the surgery he had was?????
Gerold Glocker
Gerold Glocker 4 days ago
He wanted drugs
Marie Antoinette
Marie Antoinette 4 days ago
I completely understand where you're coming from when speaking on different personalities but... this sucks! Lol! I would love a doctor like you that is that attentive, thorough and caring. Since you obviously didn't hear it that day then i will gladly be the one to tell you great job!! You should be proud of yourself. ❤❤❤
RaspingPompano2
RaspingPompano2 5 days ago
He was drug seeking is what he was doing! He figured if he said he was very very active you would write a script for pain pills because he can't take time for major surgery and or more visits because he's a very very busy person. That's exactly what he was doing, I know this because it's what I did when I was using pain pills and a addict. I'm 10 years clean and remember all the tricks I would use or say to get a doctor to write a script and recommend a pain clinic.
Caleb Williams
Caleb Williams 5 days ago
Have you ever had a case of Munchhausen‘s
Next videos
HUSTLERS TRAILER PREMIERE!
2:32