Dark

A NEW Level of Gimmick? Gigabyte Aero 15 x9 Review

Linus Tech Tips
Subscribe
Views 851 882
98% 20 748 360

Check out a Joan Board and use code LINUS8 to get 8% off at bit.ly/Joan_8
Use code LINUS and get 25% off GlassWire at lmg.gg/glasswire
While everyone else has been making their laptops better, Gigabyte has been... adding AI?
Buy the Gigabyte Aero 15 x9
On Amazon: geni.us/XvxBgkK
On Newegg: geni.us/NF6VH
Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1054687-a-new-level-of-gimmick-gigabyte-aero-15-x9-review/
Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
Intro Screen Music Credit:
Title: Laszlo - Supernova
Video Link: usvid.net/video/video-PKfxmFU3lWY.html
iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High usvid.net/u-approachingnirvana

Science & Technology

Published on

 

Apr 14, 2019

GigabyteAero 15GamingWorkstationlaptopRTXNvidiai9

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 1 211
Anhi Pham
Anhi Pham 3 days ago
@Linus Tech Tips Can you do a review of the new Gigabyte Aero 15 OLED ? I want to use it for 3D-Animation and Rendering. I am not sure about thermal throttling in the new chassis with more air vents. There are versions with GTX 1660Ti and RTX 2060 and not sure which is better for my needs. Awesome Channel by the way!
Matin Far
Matin Far 4 days ago
Is it just me or are these new laptops getting ridiculously expensive?? The Aero is the cheapest of three shown in the video and it's $2400!
Srijae Datta
Srijae Datta 7 days ago
I'll choose Zephyrus S
Nicholas Bleker
Nicholas Bleker 9 days ago
Instead of a RTX 2070 Max-Q, I wish we had the option to have the GPU be a RTX 2060 instead, and that not being a Max-Q version. This would help reduce the cost of the laptop and make it more appealing to those that just want to have the ability to turn on ray tracing in their games, while not spending so much to get that ability. Sure you might loose out on a few frames and overall have a weaker performance then the more stronger GPUs, but I don’t anyone is gonna be complaining if whatever they’re playing is at a very steady 60fps or one that’s around that area with ray tracing on. Aside from that, this laptop might be my first upgrade from the Acer Nitro 5 laptop that I’m using now. That 94 WH battery and 1TB of storage is hard to turn down, especially when it is one of the only reasonably priced laptops out their to have this in it.
Tucker Karman
Tucker Karman 15 days ago
How does the processor do with a laptop fan on the bottom?
Levi Johnson
Levi Johnson 16 days ago
haha "Holy crap STOP DOING THIS" amen
NvrUseYur RealName
NvrUseYur RealName 23 days ago
The webcam's audio was CERTAINLY TRASH, but I didn't think the video looked all that bad, compared to webcams I've used in the past(which were pretty crappy). Then again, I don't use webcams much at all so... whatev.
Simon Vader
Simon Vader Month ago
Another bonus with this one I found was that it’s got a huge prime discount of $150. Holy crap!
Fandabidozi
Fandabidozi Month ago
shout out to basil
Jacob Mcdaniel
Jacob Mcdaniel Month ago
You should have just waited a month to review the overhauled design haha
-MAS-
-MAS- Month ago
After watching your video I've compared the three devices and ended purchasing the Aero 15-X9 But I've paid around 2660$ :( in order to get it as I live far from the USA I've chosen the I7 processor as I don't think a unit this thin will be able to cool the I9 pretty well, so no actual gain. For the graphics, I think RTX-2070 is enough since I'm a developer and a casual gamer so no need to pay more for the RTX-2080. For the screen also I think UHD for development is not meaningful :/ Finally for the performance!!!??? I told you I'm far away from the USA so waiting for it to arrive in order to know :)
Save us M1SAKI
Save us M1SAKI Month ago
Didn’t even talk about build quality :/
RottenRyan100
RottenRyan100 2 months ago
Linus hates bezels....
arbington
arbington 2 months ago
“Dongle Embracer” Giggity.
DudeSkinnyTall
DudeSkinnyTall 2 months ago
So almost 2 weeks ago we get new i7-9850h etc officially released and why would I want a laptop full of last year gen. now?
Manoeuvre TV
Manoeuvre TV 2 months ago
Wish reviews showed the power adapter and total weight including the adapter. No point having a thin and light if the laptop has a huge ac adapter?
Buda Ultimate Gamer
Buda Ultimate Gamer 2 months ago
I Love your videos Linus !!!!
iDBS
iDBS 2 months ago
Add liquid metal on this laptop 😅
G
G 2 months ago
There is a possibility that there is a software application that provides the same features like the so-called "AI." Just wished I knew the name of such an app.
Sun NY
Sun NY 2 months ago
9:20 AERO have i9 not i7..
mjc0961
mjc0961 2 months ago
9:42 - You told us that was a dead meme in your 2060 review. I don't know what to believe anymore. 😭
mjc0961
mjc0961 2 months ago
Nobody uses the camera anyway. They always get taped over. Stop including them.
Will Nash
Will Nash 2 months ago
What do you think about the even newer version of the aero?
Stanislav Knyazev
Stanislav Knyazev 2 months ago
Its screen and quality is much better than razer blade has. Check out amazon reviews on real customers of razer blade - noise whine + shitty screen and shitty battery, no pros at all comparable to Aero. Also Dell design is garbage, no minimalism. So why you saying its better to buy razer/dell?
Fiction Fraction
Fiction Fraction 2 months ago
when u can afford a $2500 worth laptop! doesnt matter to pay few 100s for the logo
GΞNΛCIDΞR SHO
GΞNΛCIDΞR SHO 2 months ago
How is the MSI G6F3 8RC, i5 8th gen, GTX 1050 for gaming? Since it having like one fan so i'm kinda worried about it's cooling...
Matt Prior
Matt Prior 2 months ago
Laptops are too expensive... The end
TWR Electronics
TWR Electronics 2 months ago
Sorry but I'm going to say razer is the worst for reliability concerns. Are you part of the cult?
Stanislav Knyazev
Stanislav Knyazev 2 months ago
and worst screen as well
Jared Hernandez
Jared Hernandez 2 months ago
Is this a full 4 lanes Thunderbolt port?
foetor
foetor 2 months ago
Got mine x8 today and love it 😬
PRIMAX XYG
PRIMAX XYG 2 months ago
Love from indian bro I am watch video frpm when you have only 1000k subs
Alan Philpott
Alan Philpott 2 months ago
Love the way you can skip 10 seconds straight past the intro reel. Perfect intro length.
MaxSettings
MaxSettings 2 months ago
I always install a clean version of OS and setting battery/system to PERFORMANCE
Eric Lambert
Eric Lambert 2 months ago
I bought the i7 version one month ago, really happy with it, it just works perfectly for everything, and of course it's a beast in gaming.
Eric Lambert
Eric Lambert 21 day ago
@Chanrith JR the rtx 2070 max-Q
Chanrith JR
Chanrith JR 21 day ago
@Eric Lambert what gpu?
boy638
boy638 2 months ago
@Eric Lambert Oh my, US market really has it better.
Eric Lambert
Eric Lambert 2 months ago
@boy638 got it for 2350 EUR
boy638
boy638 2 months ago
how much you got it for?
Alkhemist 95
Alkhemist 95 2 months ago
Yeah. Keep reading, you dink.
syam babu
syam babu 2 months ago
make a pop up camera like in the new phones.
HateG Plus
HateG Plus 2 months ago
Sha-see not cha-see
Cam Mewton
Cam Mewton 2 months ago
you're pretty brave, turning your back on that pissed off AI
Franklin Castillo
Franklin Castillo 2 months ago
usvid.net/video/video-ZZLz7GDBcnw.html
Henry xxA
Henry xxA 2 months ago
Mine only hits 100 FPS csgo. Please help
Tolipop Jia
Tolipop Jia 2 months ago
Wonder if the source of the zebra crossings video could be provided?
Anon Commenter
Anon Commenter 3 months ago
But the AI is in the software...
Scheurer
Scheurer 3 months ago
i dont really get the price argument. if you already spend almost over 2500$ on a gaming laptop, what are 200$ then?
frederick8o8
frederick8o8 3 months ago
Is it me or audio is slightly off?
Almir Ramadanovic
Almir Ramadanovic 3 months ago
Hey I want to get my first gaming laptop but I’m don’t understand if it’s good or not I found it in amazon could you make a review for it or reply to me here type this in amazon search bar thx! Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP
Lefteyehawk
Lefteyehawk 3 months ago
if this is an AI, what is the MSI Afterburner, etc., you can even overclock with this tools
Eighty8sh
Eighty8sh 3 months ago
Artificial. it's in the name. The impression of better. Placebo effect.
Kurtis Depauw
Kurtis Depauw 3 months ago
I never have any idea what in the hell Linus is talking about, yet I'm constantly driven back to just simply listen and wish I were more intellectually inclined.
Chris Lighthall
Chris Lighthall 3 months ago
Linus when are you going to review a nose hair trimmer? jk
dwiddleD
dwiddleD 3 months ago
i literally spit out the milk in my mouth when linus said AI
Next videos
LYRIC PRANK ON EX!!
19:10
Views 156 334
The iPhone 11 Models!
7:09
Views 2 522 278